Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some countries do not have free educational systems, and others do, it is unquestionable the importance of this matter since it directly impacts the future of society. However, it has been debated by experts for a very long time whether it should be free of charge for those attending or not. This essay will shed light on the matter, explaining why education should be free as a means to increase equality, as well as explore if it is really as expensive as many think, due to the economic benefits it brings in the future. To start, lets explore why a free education equates to a more egualitarian society. It is known that many countries, specially those still in development, have a huge amount of population that struggle to make ends meet every day, and thus have no money to send their kids to university and maybe even to more fundamental levels of school. By being allowed access to free and public educational facilities, these families will be closer to a reality only reachable by people with more money, thus increasing equality. Another important argument relating to this matter, is that education is a key to help families leave poverty. There are so many examples of families in Brazil that sent kinds to public schools and universities, only to see them later get a great job and start helping out their families. The arguments presented above already outline a strong favorable position, but lets explore now how free education might not be as capital intensive for government as it initially seems. Several studies conducted by top prestigious universities around the world have stated that a strong educational system directly correlates to a strong Gross Domestic Product. As an example, South Korea was a very poor country a few decades ago, and by deciding to invest heavily in education they completely changed their economy for the better and are considered now a very prosperous nation. Along with a stronger GDP, something else that comes along is innovation. By allowing free access to education, a country starts to have more people studying and conducting research in universities, thus bringing innovation in all sorts of fields of study and giving the nation a competitive advantage over others. The discussion surrounding this matter is not a new one, and will continue to be very relevant as society keeps progressing. Also, although this topic is very extensive and certainly there are much more complexities regarding implementing a policy such as this, the matters presented here should certainly be taken into account during a decision.