Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more imporant. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many believe that finishing a college degree is the best way to acquire a career for it offers plenty of opportunities. However, others reckon that experience is the best teacher and enhancing soft skills is more vital for it makes one a good navigator through the tough field. In my opinion, having a college degree is still the most important part of getting an occupation. Firstly, finishing a course at a university helps students have more opportunities. Most of the occupations hire applicants who are knowledgeable enough about their chosen field. Fresh graduates are hired even though they have zero experience. For instance, studies showed findings that the vast majority of the workforce in the Philippines had completed courses and secondary degrees. They are most likely to get hired because they have proof that certifies them that they are skilled and educated on the said course. However, soft skills and experiences are argued to be a crucial part of getting a job. Experience hones one’s skills in navigating through one’s work. Soft skills such as communication, being a team player, a collaborator, and others, also assist the employee to become a good one. For example, recent research has provided information that individuals who did not graduate in college but gained plenty of experiences through different jobs have a higher tendency to be a good employee, such that the accumulated circumstances they have been in, the skills they have required, moulded them to become one. On the other hand, experiences are learned through one’s first job. During this period, he has the chance of honing his hard and soft skills, and be moulded like an experienced person. To elaborate, although having graduated from college and experience go hand in hand, the former still outweighs the latter. A person who is a degree holder opens plenty of doors in getting his desired profession. In conclusion, humans have been arguing whether completing university education is better than just having experiences and soft skills. While education helps them to open opportunities, the latter makes them good employee. However, I think the best way to achieve the desired career would be having a degree, for experiences can be earned through the first job and furthermore, soft and hard skills can be enhanced through this.