Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Extremely long commute time is one of the most annoying problems employees have nowadays. To tackle this problem, a part of people suggests that it can shorten the traveling time from homes to offices if the public areas are replaced by apartments for commuters, while others argue that public areas are vital to residents which cannot be removed. From my point of view, I disagree with this suggestion. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain my personal view. It is undeniable that building more apartments in city center for employees can dramatically save their time on the road during peak hours. This allows people to have extra spare time staying with their families or socializing with friends after work. For instance, the average commuter time in Beijing where is the capital of China has been more than two hours per day in recent decade. So it seems pleasure to have extra two hours every day to spend on personal interests. On the other hand, there are other aspects people should consider besides the convenience of going to work when developing a city. In my view, since the urbanization has transferred the cities into concrete jungles, public areas especially green places are particularly essential in residents’ daily life. To be more precise, the parks and gardens not only beautify the surroundings and make the environment more lively and energetic, but also provide people an area to attend outdoor activities to maintain health, especially for elderly people and children. Those public places bring higher quality of living environment which is priceless. Moreover, I believe there are other methods to solve the issues, such as upgrading the public transportation and infrastructures. In conclusion, even though building more houses in city centers is a way to save commuters’ time, the governments should consider more about residents’ living environment and choose other methods to shorten the traveling time.