It is some time said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is best for both the individual and for society. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see people entering wedlock in their thirties or forties. However, some people think that they should get married before they turn 30 because it is beneficial for themselves and society. I totally disagree with that due to three reasons. Firstly, young couples who rush to get married tend to have a high probability of getting a divorce. Broken families prevent children from growing up in a healthy environment. To exemplify, according to a survey by the ‘Family and Health’ magazine, the percentage of couples divorced in their twenties is twice as much as that of divorcees in their thirties. As a result, this can create social problems when children do not receive enough support from family, and they may even get involved in criminal offences outside. The taxpayers, thus, will have to waste their money dealing with these social issues instead of spending it on economic development. Secondly, I believe that getting married at a young age can lead to serious financial problems. Many youngsters who are in their twenties are usually community who recently graduated from university. These folk who just entered the workforce may not have enough savings, and therefore, they will struggle to financially support the family, especially if they are expecting a newborn. Finally, while it is true that women are encouraged to give birth in their twenties to prevent potential health complications to the mother and the child, I think that the current medical advancement is capable of helping older women to deliver babies safely. Hence, tying the knot early just to get pregnant early is no longer valid. In conclusion, not only does settling down early affect society, but it also has a negative impact on the individual. Thus, I am strongly against youngsters getting married in their twenties.