The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

In today's world, although everyone knows what impact cigarettes have on our health people continue smoking. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible reasons for this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse what can be done to solve this problem. To begin with, on the one hand, the main reason for humans to continue smoking is that it helps to relax and feel calm. This is due to the fact that not only is there much more work and stress around us but also it might be extremely hard to quit habits that have been chasing you for a long period of time. Therefore, even though the harmful effect of tobaco is being written everywhere there is still a significant level of consumption. For instance, recent research has shown that the sign "Cigarettes are killing you" did not reduce the number of smokers even by a tiny proportion. However, this issue can be solved by implementing a higher tax on producers of products with nicotine. This is because of the fact that not only will they be forced to increase the price of their product to cover new costs but also a lot of suppliers might leave the market. Therefore, the demand for cigarettes is likely to decrease since the price level will be higher. For example, one study has illustrated that such fiscal policy has succeeded in the UK and the number of smokers decreased by 10%. Eventually, to conclude, one possible cause of the fact that humans continue smoking is that in this way they are able to relax and separate from daily problems. Despite this fact, by government intervention and implementation of a higher tax on the suppliers of product with nicotine the demand can be decreased considerably.