In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's world, in some regions, there are a few people who earn significantly high salaries. It is believed by some part of a population that this is beneficial for the country, while others consider that the government should intervene and solve this problem. To begin with, on the one hand, if some businessmen earn large sums of money it may benefit the economy. This is because of the fact that not only are they likely to invest more but also their levels of consumption will be extremely high. Therefore, if investment and consumption increase it will increase the aggregate demand and, consequently GDP that, in turn, will stimulate economic growth. For instance, recent research has shown that the more rich people are in the country the more likely this country will become economically successful. However, on the other hand, this tendency may lead to high levels of inequality which can be decreased by government intervention. This is due to the fact that not only can the authority introduce maximum wages but also it can increase the tax level on those who have extremely high salaries. As a result, it is likely to reduce inequality among people and this, in turn, will increase national happiness. For example, in Ukraine, the government has introduced a maximum salary and this policy decreased income inequality by 20%. Eventually, to conclude, high income is likely to lead to an increase in GDP, however, it may level up the rate of inequality. In my opinion, the government should control wages and limit the amount people can earn to prevent the possible poverty and the gap between wealthy and poor citizens