Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad?

Studying abroad is always a dream of many students because of the tremendous advantage it brings. However, this trend still has some drawbacks. This essay will discuss both sides of whether students should study abroad or not. On the one hand, students have some disadvantages when they must live independently at such a young age. Studying abroad means that students lack care from their parents both physically and mentally. They need to deal with many changes, for instance, culture shock, racism, and language barrier, which they can avoid if studying in their countries. In addition to this, living alone in another country, they may need to take care of themselves without family help when they get sick or stress from school. Many students decide to give up and come back to their countries when they cannot overcome these difficulties. Another reason is that they will lose the connection with the current development pace in their home country, which results in obstacles to rehabilitation when they come back. On the other hand, the advantage of studying abroad clearly outweighs the drawback. Studying abroad gives students more opportunities to oppose better educations and professional training, especially if they come from a developing country. For example, most students in Vietnam study hard to get into prestigious universities in developed countries like the US, UK, or Canada. Meanwhile, some students in developed countries study in Asian universities to explore diverse cultures and traditions. Furthermore, though independent living could be inconvenient at first, it turns out a great benefit to their future in the long haul. Since they need to manage time, money, and all other aspects on their own, they are well prepared to enter the job market or deal with bigger life challenging as an adult. In conclusion, even though studying abroad has some drawbacks, it brings more benefit than harm. Hence, students who intend to study abroad should prepare themselves with knowledge and soft skills to fully take advantage of it.