nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. however, some people think that these activities are not good for a child's mental health. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

recent studies claim that children spend too much time on screens like TV and video games. while some believe that watching TV and playing video games can be excellent sources of education and entertainment, others are confident that much screen time can have a negative side effect on mental child condition. personally, I support those who believe that it is wise to monitor and limit screen time spent by young children. first of all, watching TV and playing video games may trigger emotional and behavioral issues. being trapped by these activities kids do not know how to socialise and how to express their feelings. also, they may follow examples of TV and video game characters. for example, some characters do not speak, just mumble. as a result, this has a negative effect on a child's language skill. parents should pay more attention to these issues and set limits to TV and video games so that children can spend time with friends and play sport. secondly, excessive TV viewing and video games playing have shown to decrease attention and cognitive functioning. these activities may be damaging to children's intelligence and mental problems. this might result in poor academic performance. the latest researches have proven that time spent on screens did not affect academic success, in the opposite, kids who spend hours on watching TV and playing video do worse at school. other activities like reading should be a high priority for parents who wish to protect their children from worse grades at school. as kids may not understand the root causes of these problems, it is the responsibility of parents to find proper ways how to involve their kids in other activities by setting a good personal example for their kids. in conclusion, I agree with the opinion that the activities, like watching TV and playing video games are not beneficial for young children in view of mental problems. parents should set limits and rules for screen time. As screen time should be treated as a privilege.