In some areas of the US, a “curfew” is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

It goes without saying that young people have such an active social life at the present days, especially in their leisure time. However, focused on their safety, some local governments in the United States claim that it would be beneficial if they just go out with an adult at night. I tend to agree with this because, from my point of view, they are not conscious enough about their acts. Firstly, it is undoubtedly true that American families strive to keep their children protected through curfews considering that some cities face significant rates of crime nowadays. Furthermore, it is widely known that offences are likely to occur at night as there is a reduced number of policies working in this period. To illustrate, statistics demonstrate that the majority of assaults happens about midnight, when the youth would be vulnerable. Likewise, there is also a strong human argument for doing so. Teenagers are highly influenced since they do not have developed their thoughts and values yet. That is why, despite a plethora of advice, they tend to rely on their friends rather than on their parents. Take drugs as an example. Individuals usually have the first contact with illegal substances when they are at parties with their colleagues until late. Finally, curfews can help families as a whole. It is crystal clear that adults are liable for their kids in several aspects, such as safety, otherwise, they might have a harsh punishment. As a result, fathers prefer to accompany their children everywhere in order to avoid severe concerns. If young people drink and drive, for instance, parents would be responsible for not supervising them, which is common at night. To sum up, when it comes to bringing up a child, rules should be adopted in order to prevent major problems. As far as I am concerned, adults can deal better with difficult moments, and therefore, they should take care of their teenagers until late.