International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel it is a positive trend but others don’t. Give your opinion.

Travelling to other nations for leisure and holidays is becoming more common these days. Some people feel that it is a positive development, while others are of the view that there are several negative consequences of this trend. I would like to outline my opinion in forthcoming paragraphs. Tourism plays a vital role in any country’s economy by creating jobs and bringing in important foreign currency. There are a few countries for example Hong Kong and Thailand, the major part of whose GDP is from the tourism sector. Thus, nations promote tourism to uplift their economy. In addition to this, faster modes of travel, reduced travelling fares and increased per capita income are also few of the reasons, resulting in leisure travelling to other countries becoming popular. Furthermore, foreign travellers also contribute to social and cultural exchange, making people aware about the values and practices of other nations, and hence bringing people around the globe closer. However, there is a certain group of individuals who are of the view that global tourism has resulted in their cultural dilution. People of different cultures when visiting a country, create an expression of their values on local people, and thus, create a dent in local values and traditions. Apart from this, environmental damage is also cited as a consequence of increased tourism. Coral reef damage in Australia, caused by divers is an example of this. In conclusion, even though there are some problems caused by global tourism, but I am of the opinion that the increase in international tourism has brought many significant positive developments and has been beneficial for nations.