Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that the world has developed throughout the years, especially in terms of education. However, some individuals claim that renowned institutions insist on teaching facts rather than practical skills, which is quite harmful to students. I tend to agree with that because, from my point of view, this is an outdated methodology and should be abandoned. Firstly, it is undoubtedly true that schools have to follow a national programme of education since it is standardized. In this context, theoretical subjects are prioritized over the practical ones in several countries, despite being useless to the majority of students. To illustrate, laboratories lessons are not included in Brazilian grades, although it is essential as well as more effective. Likewise, there is also a strong professional argument for supporting hands-on classes. It is undeniable that traditional universities do not prepare skilled workers as they focus on theory most of the time. For instance, a great number of young people do not master Microsoft Excel, which is a basic need in the business environment. That is why, after finishing their studies, they need to enrol in extracurricular courses. Finally, it is widely known that technical courses can help economies as a whole. Statistics demonstrate that successful nations have been investing in this sort of learning as it brings financial benefits. Take Germany as an example. There are a plethora of state-of-the-art companies located there since local citizens are prepared for working with technology, which is the most profitable area nowadays. To sum up, when it comes to the educational sector, some governments still encourage traditional subjects, such as history on a daily basis. Nevertheless, as far as I am concerned, practical classes are beneficial in many aspects since it is more useful in our modern society.