Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Personal particulars such as leisure activities, interest and civil status are sometimes being asked by employers in a job interview. It is often argued that this information is unnecessary and holds no value. Whereas for others, such details can help the employer to evaluate who could fit into their work field. To begin with, the idea to disclose private information to an organization is valuable in the process of deciding whether an applicant fits perfectly into the work culture. For instance, a vacant position that requires travelling to diverse metropolis even during the weekend, may not be possible to fill in by a woman who has a less than 1-year-old baby as she needs to do breastfeeding on a regular basis. Moreover, the applicant’s hobbies and interest could give the employer an idea of their personality as well as their ability and flexibility of doing a particular work. On the other hand, divulging personal data could create bias which is not healthy in an organization. A person who is single and has no children could receive work that is much more demanding than other workers who have children. Furthermore, although knowing one’s interest could give the employers a hint of their personality, this could also be misused by some employers. For example, an employee who is night going can be invited by an employer to dine in at a restaurant or go to a bar. This kind of invitation is often breaking professional boundary and sometimes lead to some sort of sexual harassment in the long run. In conclusion, it has no doubt that knowing an applicant’s private data has its own merits and demerits. Nonetheless, I believe that disclosing one’s personal details is a part of every organization.