Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

There are individuals who believe that criminals would develop volunteer work for the society rather than be in prison. Currently, there are some countries around the world that this strategy is an option. On the other hand, a plethora of nations does not echo this idea. Places with a public prison system depend on the government to direct money to maintain their activities, such as cooking, cleaning and health appointments. Therefore, from my point of view, I believe that the prisoners with capacity and skills could be chosen for local unpaid tasks. As a result, it could be a way for the public system to pay back the money that is direct to them and, consequently, the heads of state could use the money to attend to others demands of society. Besides, community work is a path of rehabilitation for those who are in prison, due to the fact that it could be an opportunity to return slowly to society. To exemplify, when an individual is working as a garbage man, he could choose this occupation in the forthcoming future, when he would not be behind bars. In addition, be in contact with the normal life is a manner to keep the mental health of those criminals. As a consequence, when they would be free, this process could be conspicuous easier and they would not feature a querulous demeanour. In conclusion, from my perspective, it is of pivotal importance to bear in mind that working in a community could bring an array of benefits for the criminal and society, as I mentioned above. Furthermore, it could be a way to treat humans beings as they are, despite of their crime, in order to rehab that person to the real life again.