Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some say that providing a great number of sports areas is the best solution to have a great improvement in public health condition, while others think that this solution is not enough to reach this goal. This essay will argue that although the creation of these spaces encourages people to practice exercises, this solution alone is not sufficient to result in better health for society. On the one hand, it is argued that creating new areas to do physical activities could result in a public health improvement. This is because it is expected that these places will motivate people to dedicate their time working out. But building these spaces do not guarantee that people will use them properly, and those who have been living a sedentary lifestyle for a long time might face some difficulties to change habits. For example: research with people suffering from obesity finds out that most of them do not exercise themselves even having access to gyms, stadiums, and sports centers. On the other hand, there are those who believe that it is necessary other measures to achieve good public health, such as increasing taxes on fatty food products and reducing rates on vegetables and fruits. Another thing that effectively works is to promote awareness campaigns about some diseases and how to prevent them keeping good life habits and health check-up updated. For instance, many campaigns about smoking risks were performed in Brazil in the last decade and there was a huge decline in cigarettes sales in this period, resulting in a great reduction of lung cancer cases in the country. To conclude, providing a great number of areas to practice sports activities could be one way to motivate people to have a healthier life, but this is not enough to effectively impact public health. It is far more effective to reduce natural products taxes, rise junk food rates and promote campaigns to make people know how to avoid health disorders.