Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

In recent times, skincare is no longer limited to one gender, as both genders have been noticed to splurge on this. Many are of the opinion that it never used to be this way. I will be addressing why I believe more people are spending more money on skincare because of awareness, and also what the effects of this could be. In the past, beautifying oneself is something that was attributed to just one gender, the female gender. Men who took the time to care about appearances were seen as weak or not masculine enough. Think about it, if you saw a man applying sunscreen on the train 5 years ago, what would your reaction be? However, that is no longer the situation. A study done in 2015 showed that more and more men were coming down with different skin problems. Hence, dermatologist around the world has made it their lives goal to not just create skincare products that enhance the beauty, but also heal skin related ailments even before they occur. As a result of this enlightenment, the percentage of men having dermatologic problems drastically reduced. Because of this, we see more men spending on their bodies like never before. As a result of both genders being interested in skincare like never before, there's now a huge economic boom in the skincare industry. In Nigeria, in the year 2020, it was shown that over a million dollars were spent on the importation of beauty products (the return of investment was over 28%). With this level of profits studied, there are more jobs created in the industry, thus reducing the level of unemployment. In conclusion, looking beautiful is no longer gender-based but now universal. Regardless of your biological configuration, you can also spend as much more as you want on looking beautiful. Skincare has proven to be very versatile; beautifying the human race while enhancing the economy.