In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, countries are divided over the issue related to the impact of regulations on governing a child attitude. There are some who believes that children should follow strict practice guidelines, whereas others feel that they should remain a free bird and act according to their whims and fancies. This essay concurs with the former idea as it helps in building their character and keep them on the right path. In the essay, both the points will not only be discussed in greater details, but also supported with necessary examples. Firstly, following strict policies are imperative in building a child character. They learn from their surrounding and this learning last forever. It is important for parents to set the ground rules at the very beginning as this will help them to behave appropriately. For example, a toddler programmed to respect an elderly will always do it whenever he comes across an old person. Secondly, strict codes help to draw a line between good and bad behaviour. Children are a free spirit and very inquisitive with a high predisposition towards experimenting with new things. Moreover, they do not have the acumen to decide between right and wrong, hence, predefined guidelines assist them in understanding what is good or bad for them. For instance, cigarettes and alcohol are very dangerous for them, therefore, it is important to include this in their guidebook which they should follow diligently. To conclude, being free is very important for a certain section of society, but not for children as they do not have the maturity to take call for themselves. Thus, predefined guidelines, governing their behaviour, is very important for building good values and keep them on the right path away from nefarious activities.