Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The majority of people these days opt to work for themselves rather than for someone else. The following essay will discuss the reasons and downsides of self-employment. To begin with, there are various reasons why most people choose this path in life. One of them includes the opportunity for the self-employed to have a legacy. They prefer to work harder in order to facilitate greatly their children’s life. Having their own business, individuals can earn a sufficient amount of money that can help to provide their children with the best education possible, which will clearly have a significant impact on their well-being. The second reason consists of the fact that self-employment means no more orders from managers at high-level positions, with which one does not agree. If the employees, for example, received orders to do something illegal with the accounting books of the firm, they will be obligated to perform this task because their job will be at risk. Undoubtedly, when people work for themselves, they are allowed to do whatever they want as long as it does not hurt their own company. Additionally, they can choose their working hours freely and manage their expenditures. In this way, they can be more productive and efficient. However, the decision of a person to become self-employed may have some disadvantages. Firstly, these people carry a huge amount of responsibilities. They are accountable for everything happening in their own company, which can cause stress and mental illness. For instance, they need to fix the repercussions, if one of their employees make a mistake, Moreover, the self-employed people cannot take a long holiday to rest because they need to manage every step that the firm makes. Definitely, this costs them the quality time with their family and friends. In conclusion, for being self-employed there are a number of reasons such as having a legacy, providing for the family and children, and having the freedom to do whatever is wanted without the obligation to obey orders. Despite these positive sides, various disadvantages exist. Clearly, the missed quality time with family and the stress are a sufficient part of a self-employed's job.