In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In this day and age, private organizations are spending on and conducting more scientific research as compared to the government sector. In my opinion, I agree that processes are more streamlined and efficient in private companies and they are always challenging themselves with latest research -based projects, although there are some minor disadvantages. Firstly, one of the major advantages of private companies paying and conducting most scientific research is that the resulting products are available in market quicker as they follow strict timelines and targets. This is partly due to work culture with in the organization and employee incentives based on their performances. Secondly, private companies are always challenging themselves by competing in international markets to secure upcoming projects. For instance, in previous year, most of the Covid Vaccine research grants were awarded to private companies based on their research capabilities and production efficiency. All these extra measure by private organizations also results in higher quality research or product. Admittedly there are some minuscule problems related to private companies spending and conducting most of scientific research. One potential problem is product pricing which does not include any subsidies and would be more expansive as compared to a product administered by government entity. Most advanced research equipment and resources at private organization would increase the price of resulting product and would not be accessible to general public. Another problem can be of accessibility. As the cost of such research is higher, it would not be easily available. Different outlets will only exhibit such products based on their audience which will result in product being available at select locations or retailers. In conclusion, research at private organizations having higher costs and selective distribution is not much of an issue as compared to the benefits it offers