News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in newspapers. What factors influence these decisions? Do you think we become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?

Nowadays, news has a growing influence on the public. ‘Good news ’ and ‘bad news ’ can have very different impacts on the way we think. Therefore, the factors editors consider when selecting news materials becomes a matter of many people’s concern. This essay will discuss these factors and the effects of good news and bad news. When deciding which kind of news to report, editors need to consider the interests of their media companies and the public they are supposed to serve. As interests of the company require the stories to attract viewers to gain profits, editors would choose the news more compelling than others. For instance, during the period of the presidential election, a candidate’s speech can be more favourable than the release of a new movie. However, editors should not only consider the attractiveness but also ensure the reliability for public interests. In other words, they should not release unreliable information that is compelling but misleading. One example can be unproven claims that certain food can cure COVID-19 can cause panic buying and bring no benefits to audiences. There is a little doubt that we are getting used to ‘bad news’ in recent years. Reporting of crimes, corruption and environmental pollution can be found on television and the internet all the time. It may not be necessarily bad for people to hear bad news since it can raise the public’s awareness of social issues but too much bad news will depress and worry the audiences. For example, reporting too many criminal cases can make people feel always be in danger and hardly trust anyone. For this reason, more goods news, such as stangers kindly helping each other, should be reported to help people develop positive attitudes toward life and acknowledge the goodness existing in society. In summary, attractiveness and reliability are two of the main factors editors would consider to serve the interest of media organizations and the public. The public is used to bad news as it has been extensively reported. Though it can have good effects on certain cases, more good news should be reported to balance the anxiety it causes.