In some countries, owing a house rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case. Do you think this is a positive or negative situation.

Nowadays, living in a comfortable and conducive place is of utmost importance. In many countries, people prefer having their personal houses to paying a mortgage in rented apartments monthly or annually, as the case may be. This is due to the fact that they have the privilege to decorate their accommodation to their taste and this has a positive impact on them as they can not be chased out of the place. To begin with the reason for preferring to own a house, such an individual that owns the building can design and renovate it according to his or her own choice. The reason for this is that the apartment belongs to them and they have the freedom to do whatever they want to it. To buttress this, in a study conducted by the Ministry of housing at a suburb in Lagos state, it was concluded that about 55 per cent of personally owned buildings are renovated every year. Therefore, house owners have the liberty to construct their houses as they wish. Turning to the benefit of this circumstance, a Landlord can never be given a quick notice to move out of his home, as this is his personal belongings. For instance, in my neighbourhood about two years ago, some tenants were given an order to pack out of the house, one of them became frustrated and wished he had a place of his own and such an incident would never have happened to him. From the aforementioned example, it is apparent that it is advantageous to have one's personally built home. To conclude, having a personal accommodation instead of leasing it is beneficial. This is because an individual can design it to suit himself or herself and stands a chance to gain as the person can remain in the apartment as long as he or she wants.