Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued whether studying painting, drawing and music is useless or important for school children and if it should be encouraged or not. The paragraphs below will outline both sides of this trend and, further, I will give my own point of view. To begin with, some individuals claim that studying art subjects in school is positive because it can boost creativity and help juveniles in problem-solving issues. It is well known that paintings and drew pictures usually have more than one interpretation, which forces people to look from the different point of views and, yet, cause disturbance due to not ensure them of the right meaning. Therefore, as in puzzles, it is needed to find different visions of the same problem, to reach the right path. On the other hand, some parents depart from this idea, as they consider having theoretical knowledge rather than subjective ones a better investment in the long term to engage in a course and, consequently, find a job. For instance, in Brazil, Universities tests are based on regular subjects knowledge, such as mathematics and history. Therefore, to enrol in a course, being a hard skilled person is necessary. Although, in my opinion, I deem it strongly positive that art is maintained in the school curriculum. Nowadays' companies expect proactivity from employees, thus, stimulating kids' soft skills can help them to deal with problematic situations, which is fundamental to build a career. To conclude, both arguments have their merits. Although, I consider studying artistic movements essential for children's development as it can be a positive aid to become a proactive person and a problem-solver.