Some say that many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since there has been an increase in the average life expectancy, many individuals claim that the age at which people retire from work should be raised significantly. From my perspective, nowadays, our longevity is greater, however, thy should not be a considrable growth in the retiring age. In these modern days, I believe, individuals are holding a longer life span, comparing with the past, due to an improvement in science and better living standard. Firstly, with the enormous development in science, it allows people to have easy access to high quality medical treatments and healthcare. People may be able to recover completely from some diseases, which were considered to be disastrous and incurable in the past, such as leprosy. As a consequence, the life expectancy of individuals tends to be expanded remarkably. Secondly, there has been a sustainable rise in human standard of living that provides people an opportunity to put great emphasis on health. Since people may lead a superior life, a wider range of food and beverage selection is available. In other words, people have a tendency to contemplate carefully before giving their decision, in order to preven people from having common health problems as obesity or diabetes. This is likely to bring out an increase in the average longevity. However, the authority had better not increase the age at which people retire from work because an alteration may have an adverse impact on the productivity of work and the young generation. As the older an individual get, the more likely that he will be incapable of having a potential physical statement that he used to have. As a result, the quality of his working performance might be decreased, which brings out a reduction in the turnover of a company. In addition, the young generation seems to be affected negatively, because they have to compete with the older generation for a position in a business harshly. More people will be challenged with unemployment, which migh put a strain on their financial problems. To conclude, although I agree with the statement that the life expectancy of individuals is extended, the retiring age should not be changed.