Some people say that traveling abroad is necessary to get knowledge about other countries, while others suggest that TV and the internet can also help people know about foreign countries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary era, gathering knowledge about the world is not only possible through travelling but also from the broadcasting media and the internet. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that it is now possible to know about all countries around the world by watching TV programmes, others contend that visiting abroad is paramount in order to deepen the knowledge. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that without having any practical experience, it is next to impossible to acquire solid ideas about other nations. With the advent of technology, individuals can now gather concepts about other parts of the world by sitting in their comfort zones and without spending any money. In other words, state-of-the-art technological equipment makes it convenient to broaden the intelligence about foreign nations within a few days by staying at home that was not possible through travelling. To cite an example, to visit and know about other nation’s culture, a tourist must have to stay in that country for at least seven days whereas a person can know about many regions by watching documentaries within those days. Therefore, TV channels and the internet help us to increase our expertise in a faster way. Plausible though media helps to collect ideas in an organized way, it is worth arguing that hands-on experience is much more conducive to memorising the facts. To be more precise, traversing to other states facilitates in getting practical expertise through the conversation of a local population that could not be possible from watching any travel programme or reading online journals. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that the memorising ability and the general intelligence of a traveller are threefold compared to a person who only loves to watch travel films or documentaries. So as to have a deeper knowledge, thus, people should travel to foreign states. In conclusion, admittedly, TV and the internet help to get information in a faster way but never can it intensify the knowledge. Hence, I unequivocally buttress the stand of visiting abroad.Some people say that travelling abroad is necessary to get knowledge about other countries, while others suggest that TV and the internet can also help public know about foreign countries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.