Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Community service is the best punishment for people who commit certain crimes. While some individuals argue that they should be kept in the jail. This essay will give arguments in favour of the alternative sentence and provide a logical conclusion. To begin with, public service often persuades outlaws not to re-offend. Working with sick children or elderly people makes some realize that there are people who have more difficult lives than they do. So community work can be an educational experience. The prime example is a US judge named Mike Cicconetti who created an alternative sentence. He believes that doing time in the jail won't make any difference for offenders that are supposed to change after the completion of their sentence. One of his creative punishments was applied to teens accused of speeding. They were offered a choice between having their license suspended for 90 days or for a shorter period and spending one day working as a school crossing guard. This practice has noticeably reduced the crime rates and now young offenders rare appear in his courtroom for speeding. Moreover, it is less likely that spending time in prisons will discourage criminals to break the law again. For example, juvenile criminals will discover a severe criminal world and learn more about it, which may tempt them into committing more crimes. In prisons many of the inmates take drugs and some got insulted both mentally and physically. To conclude, I believe, that community service has important advantages especially for minor crimes and for society.