With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth of e-books has led to the fall of paper books. While this is seen by some people as a negative step, in my,opinion the advantages that e-books offer for the environment and young writers outweigh the disadvantages. The invention of e-books has changed the publishing industry dramatically and the majority of this change has been positive. One important benefit is for the environment because their electronic form does not require natural resources, such as paper and ink, which is a welcome development to save our planet. Furthermore, the fact that there are no printing costs the price for an e- book is a clear example of a win-win situation both for the reader, who pays less for a new book, and the writer, who earns more from the sale of every copy. However, the revolutionising benefit must be the fact that e-books have given the opportunity to publish a book to anyone, even those young writers with no contacts or money because you only need a computer and an internet connection to have your work available in the online bookstores. For instance, my cousin last year managed to publish a book she wrote and managed to sell several copies already. These are only a few advantages of e-books.  But, e-books have disadvantages too. Some people argue that many people working in the industry will lose their job because of the decline in demand for paper books, including those working in production and in bookstores. For example, on my street we used to have two book shops, which have recently closed. Moreover, as e-books are read on a luminous screen, this can disturb the sleep of those who like to read in bed. And reading on a screen can be hard because of light reflection. For example, my mother enjoys going to the park to read and relax and cannnot do that with e-books. To conclude, e-books have many good points and some others are not so good, but the advantages outweigh the few disadvantages as this essay has illustrated.