Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit the teenagers and the community as well. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

Teenage is a golden period of every person's life. Hence, teenage years must be spent doing good things which will be beneficial for the future. Some people are of the opinion that teenagers should do volunteering in their free time as it will be beneficial for them as well as for the society they live in. According to me, while this has several advantages for the teenagers,it should not be done at the cost of their mental peace and health. To begin with, there are numerous benefits of doing unpaid work.During this, teenagers learn effective communication skills which are necessary in order to succeed in life. They also develop a helping attitude towards other people and learn to be more tolerant towards them. For example, during my holidays I volunteered in an old age home. It made me realise that we should be more patient while dealing with the elders and support them whenever possible. In addition to this, serving people for free also makes them understand that we must give back to the society which helps us grow and fulfil our dreams. On the other hand, it is important that teenagers aren't forced to do volunteer work by sacrificing their peace of mind and health. This is because, teenagers these days are already burdened with studies and have to deal with a lot of stress because of school. Making it compulsory for them to engage in community service may increase their stress levels. For instance, my brother aged 15 used to volunteer at an orphanage during his free time. However, it became so hectic and stressful for him that he fell sick and had to skip school for several days, which had a negative impact on his studies. Thus, it is also important that teenagers are allowed to de-stress and relax. To conclude, if teenagers involve themselves in doing free volunteer work,it can be useful for their overall development and growth. However, they should not overdo it and must take care of themselves while ensuring that it does not affect their studies.