Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Many people believe that art subjects should be regular contents of every school syllabus in spite of this, many schools still have art subjects categorised as optional. This essay will elaborate on this topic matter and provide my personal opinion as well. Firstly, I completely understand the thought process behind having subjects like drama and creative writing being categorised as optional subjects as these are halo subjects and not many pupils want to pursue the subjects as their career when compared to more mainstream subjects like science, math and English. But this trend has prevailed predominantly because schools have been actively excluding them from the curriculum for ages, as a result, these subjects never caught on with the mass. For example, my school never had any of these subjects in the syllabus thus, I never developed the tendency to learn these subjects. Secondly, when schools start to put focus on these subjects, the byproduct of such a paradigm shift from the traditional education system often result in exponential growth. I would like to put India as an example where art and music are compulsory subjects at schools, because of this, their music, film and drama industry is one of the biggest in the world despite being a third -world country. Hence, I firmly believe that these subjects should be made mandatory. To sum up, although the participation rate of students in these subjects is low which leads people to become complacent and overlook the importance of music and drama, every school still should include these subjects and lastly, let's not forget what we do when we are sad, angry, feeling romantic or just want to time-pass; we listen to the songs or watch movies.