You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The topic of sports remains controversial within the school's curriculum, just as the sport itself has become controversial at times. I will consider both sides' valid opinions now. On the one hand, some say that games take up time that could better be spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. Aside from this, it might be unwise to force children to engage in activities that they do not enjoy. After all, some kids just aren't sporty and should be allowed to study instead of playing sports. Furthermore, drugging and corruption scandals have become increasingly common in the port itself, just as we see in cycling today. Young people are influenced by the lack of morals of their parents. On the other hand, though, one of the major benefits of sport is that it helps children's physical development at an early age. If all their time was spent studying, they would fall ill and their minds would suffer. Moreover, supporters of school games emphasize the importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which are often seen as excellent preparations for adult life. Finally, it may be argued that athletics foster a sense of competition, so important today. In particular, many successful businessmen excelled in-game at the institution. In my view, all schoolchildren should be required to engage in sports since it is beneficial to their mental and physical development. So long as children are given choices, to ensure interest, and that the sports industry itself maintains the highest standards.