It’s generally believed that success in fields such as art and sport can only be achieved if a person has natural talent. However, it’s sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or artist. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There has been a contagious argument that in order to achieve success including sport and art, without the gene inside would be impossible while others believe that as long as there is a sensible approach, it could be realized. This essay discusses both opinions and I am inclined to the view that becoming a person excelling at this must be a combination of talent and good teaching. Some hold the opinion that only by having a genetic talent can man become successful in fields like music, dancing and so forth. The main reason is that these activities require not only strenuous practice, which is obviously compulsory, but they also involve following our instinct greatly. Take basketball for an example, ballers can definitely know how to run at a fast pace, ways to approach and steal the ball, however, little do they know the exact degree to throw the ball into the net smoothly in every situation. In all cases, their instinctive moves lead them subconsciously. Additionally, when it comes to occupation working with emotions, most artists would let their stream of thoughts flow, thereby creating a masterpiece which represents themselves. The products must not be soulless, henceforth, the artists must have gifted abilities to control and express their feelings effortlessly. On the other hand, others argue that through good training and education can everyone achieve greatness in the aforementioned aspects. Firstly, this is due to the ground that suitable practice makes perfect. Regardless of the living background, as long as there is a will, imperfections can turn into strengths. A good illustration comes from dancing, some moves from the beginners tend to be unnecessary and monotonous, which could be adjusted through time and intense practice so that the dancers can be shaped into perfection. Furthermore, a dedicated and sensible teacher would greatly determine whether they could make establishments in the future or not. Were it not for these experienced guiders, people would not be able to have a clear path and an insight into their capabilities to really achieve such triumph. In conclusion, both views stand their points. However, I believe that on the road to success, both aspects in terms of gifted talent and valuable training and teaching are necessary. Without one factor, it appears to be impossible.