Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the principal objective of adverts is to enhance the sales of goods that people have no need for. This essay completely disagrees with that idea because the primary purpose of ads should be informing its target audience about the assortment of services and trying to lure people into buying needless products is doomed to end up with failure. To begin with,being informed about a product that one needs is the primary driving force behind meaningful shopping. Therefore, advertisement companies should identify their target audience and provide them with information on different sorts of goods and services that they are in need of, rather than attempting to attract them randomly. For,example a language learning application called LinQ promoted its service to the language learners on YouTube and increased its revenue twofold in a month. Furthermore, it is an undeniable fact that customers are becoming increasingly conscious and as a consequence, it may be challenging to tempt them into purchasing unnecessary stuff. Since shoppers usually have limited budgets, they tend to be more cautious when it comes to shopping. This is why firms that employ the strategy of untargeted selling is bound to face a loss in revenue. For instance, a well-known enterprise called BlueX lost 30% of its income due to ignoring the preference surveys that have been carried out. In conclusion, although some claim that boosting the marketing of unpreferred products is the first and foremost purpose of promotions. However, I am of the opinion that this strategy is deplorable for enterprises and targeting specific users is likely to be more profitable.