Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people are of the opinion that it is necessary to make Art a compulsory subject owing to the positive influence on the development of high school students. From my perspective, I believe that although teenagers can receive benefits from art classes, we should not force every student to anticipate those classes. Admittedly, Art classes play a significant role in the development of juveniles. For instance, artistic activities foster the creativity and imagination of students, which is of great importance to their future jobs as all kinds of industry require the ability to innovate to keep up with the rapidly changing trends and fashion. Furthermore, art classes help students to foster hobbies and provide them with the opportunity to make friends with those who share the same hobby. Therefore, there will be great improvements in the communication and social skills of teenagers, which means they are more likely to work efficiently with co-workers in future workplaces. However, art classes do not necessarily need to be compulsory. Some students may hope to work in some fields with little connection to art such as engineering or programming, so they have neither interest nor motivation to study art.In this case, art classes become a waste of time and money as the classes bring little help to improve the career prospects of these students. In addition,forcing every teenager to attend art classes adds a burden on students.Being already stressful enough when facing other subjects besides art, students may find the study scheme is beyond their capabilities and the efficiency of learning other subjects is reduced. To summarize, there is no denying that the lives of students can be different without art classes as the classes cultivate certain practical skills, but it should be the student's choice when it comes to whether to sign up for art classes or not.