Some people believe that the main benefit of international cooperation is the protection of the environment, while others think that the main benefits are in the world of business. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are groups of people who believe that international cooperation is for the environmental protection, whereas some believe that the only benefit from such collaboration is for economic growth. In my perspective, environmental protection is possible only if the countries can get rid of greed. Firstly, the environmental protection is only feasible if all the countries join hands in eliminating carbon emissions. Furthermore, there are nations that are already staring at the great perils as the repercurssions of global warmings. For example, countries like Maldives and Indonesia are constantly under the threat of having their entire cities being submerged within decades. And there are landlocked countries like Nepal, Bhutan and Mongolia that do not need to fear this threat but this doesn't mean that they can start to increase their carbon emissions. Moreover, only with a collective effort from all the inhabitants of this planet, we can curb the damaging effects on the environment. Secondly, protective the environment is not the job of one specific country, in fact, the onus is on all of us. On the other hand, the alliance between countries is mostly for economic gains. For instance, countries like China and unfortunately Australia as well are more focused on making financial gains rather than focusing on the environmental issue. To elaborate, in Australia, we have coal mines and timber factories that export materials that are harmful to the environment. Having said that, both the countries have introduced and implemented few projects but most of them are done haphazardly. Hence, all these international co-operations are focused mainly on business. In conclusion, environmental protection is possible to achieve if all the countries come together. However, unless the countries are able to overcome the greed of financial gain, businesses will be the only sector benefiting from these international collaborations.