Some feel governments, rather than private companies, should be in charge of medical services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hold the view that medical services should be provided by governments rather than private corporations, while others state that clinics should be run by a private sector. I partially disagree with this statement for the following reasons. Admittedly, medical businesses provided by authorities rather than private companies have an advantage because the prices of services can be stabilised. Since private businesses are affected by economic conditions, the prices can fluctuate. On some occasions, low-income households cannot afford to see doctors. This is well exemplified by the American case. Health insurance is run by the private sector, and a great number of people cannot receive medical assistance because they are hesitant to purchase exorbitant insurance. Thus, medical operations by institutions enable every citizen to access medical facilities. On the other hand, I believe medical utilities should be conducted by private corporations because governmental management can lessen the opportunities to pursue better services. Private companies make the best effort for improving medical techniques and services to survive a fierce market. The lack of competition can deteriorate the industry's medical standard. For example, at my neighbour medical centre, there was always a long queue, and it made customers wait for a couple of hours. However, after numerous complaints by patients, the centre introduced an internet booking system so that customers can visit without any wait. This example illustrates that intensive private sector's competition prompts them to meet customers' demand immediately. In conclusion, I partially disagree with this statement because authorities' medical supply guarantee the fixed price; however, they discourage doctors to hone their skills and services.