Government should spend more money on education than sports. Do you agree or disagree?

Almost all governments, across the globe, have a yearly budget to distribute money for various activities. I agree that governments should allocate a higher budget for education compared to recreation and sports. This can be proven by analysing, how spending more money on education can reduce unemployment rate as well as decrease crime rate and can positively enhance the people ’s life standard. If more people are educated in a country, it is apparent that the employment rate of that nation will be high, as there are a lot of skilled employments available throughout the world. But to have many people educated, the governments should provide good education system which is affordable by the citizens. For example, as per the report published in the Week magazine during August 2015, America has very less unemployment rate as the government provides best quality education to the citizens at a very minimal fee. Thus, it is obvious that the government should focus on spending more on the education sector. The recreation and sports activities are also important for people but the education has far better importance. As the society has more social knowledge, the crime rate will be reduced. This is due to the fact that education creates a positive mentality among the people. For instance, as per the BBC report telecasted on January 2015, Nigeria has a crime rate which is 20 times more than the USA. Therefore it is the responsibility of the governments to ensure that the citizens are educated by providing adequate infrastructure. In addition to that, governments should even make the secondary education free and mandatory. Hence it is very clear that governments must allocate a higher budget for education. Sports and other recreation can improve people ’s life standard but what benefits it can bring when the people have poverty and they are engaging in crime? By analysing how allocating more money for education can increase employment rate and make the earth a safer place to live, it is very important that governments should allocate a higher percent of the budget on education. It is predicted that importance is given to recreation and sports as well, but not at the cost of education.