Most large companies nowadays operate multinationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

It is true that most big corporations conduct their businesses outside the borders of their country. While I agree that companies should maximise their profits, I would argue that they should have social responsibilities in those areas where they operate their businesses. In terms of social perspectives, there are some reasons why companies should have public responsibilities. Firstly, if companies improve their working conditions and have job perks such as sick leaves and bonuses, they could attract a more educated and skilled workforce. For example, skilled employees are more flexible, as they can meet the job requirements and switch from one task to another quickly. In addition, In some countries such as America or China, some situations must be avoided, including wage starvation, poor working conditions, and child labour. Secondly, it is the self-interest of companies. For instance, through philanthropic actions such as giving charity donations and providing scholarships, multinational enterprises not only help those who are less fortunate but also enhance their public image. Thus, this can contribute to raising their sales figures. In terms of environmental perspectives, production processes have resulted in serious environmental problems. Irresponsible behaviours such as the disposal of chemical waste into rivers and oceans have polluted water resources and caused resultant soil erosion. Therefore, companies should allocate resources to install waste treatment systems to solve industrial wastes before discharging them into the sea. Another issue is that the overexploitation of natural resources by these enterprises has caused the depletion of energy resources in areas where their businesses are conducted. As local communities are dependent on these natural sources to survive, so big corporations should provide more job opportunities for local people and contribute to improving the quality of life in these regions. In conclusion, multinational companies have a moral duty and self-interest in having public responsibilities in countries where they do their businesses.