In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is no such a time in history that the media and entertainment have become so prevailing among people as it is today, and they have almost become one of the most important carriers of all types of commerce. Goods and services may still be well-known without any promotion in the past but now, since there are too many of them, advertising becomes the one -and-only if any businesses want themselves to thrive in the market. But what is funny is that, if you take a good look at all the advertisements, you may wonder why almost all brands or manufacturers emphasize that their products are new in some way. Here comes the reason; it is human nature that forces all advertisers to form this impression (sometimes the illusion) on their potential customers. If we put it in terms of economics, we may find out the phenomenon termed “diminishing marginal utility”, that people are hard-wired to become less satisfied with what they possess after a while even if there is nothing wrong with the latter. That means, no matter how good and how durable a product is, people may reduce their obsession with their properties after a period of use and would desire a substitute if they had a chance to see one. This one may not be better than the last, but it has to be new since it is meant to satisfy people's demand for freshness. This is good news to businesses, as they may find the perfect way to sell their goods by fetching this psychology, and the way is to focus on innovation. If innovation is hard, it may work for businesses to “zoom in” on the subtle, insignificant new things of their products through advertising. That seems a cost-and-time-efficient way to increase their sales. Like most things, I would believe this phenomenon is neither too good nor bad; the truth lies somewhere in the middle. Some may worry that this too much emphasis on “new” products is the culprit behind the high level of consumerism, and that may lead to a large amount of waste, since people may throw away their still in-use products and chase for the excitement of owning a new one. However, the take-home message is that consumerism happens anyway, determined by multiple factors such as the booming of industrialization or consumer desires, among which advertising is just one on the surface. On the other hand, it seems persuasive for some to reckon that this trend may finally force companies to innovate, since they may not forever fool their consumers, but instead need at least make something new to convince the market. But knowing that our human being as a whole is greedy and indolent inside, this is also unlikely to happen. Rather than true innovations, businesses may wind up building a more attractive promotion system, exaggerating every subtlety they have changed but improve some, say, parameters at most. In conclusion, I would believe that it is the recognition of human nature that makes businesses focus on advertising how “new” their products are, and this is just a normal trend. Instead of believing the mere speculations, we’d better wait and see what is going next in the future.