Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

People are increasingly shopping online to buy almost everything they need. This trend brings evident advantages such as people saving time and effort, however the main drawbacks of buying things on the Internet are that it can be not practical most of the time, especially for clothing items and it might end up in a concerning saturation of the delivering system. In my perspective, the benefits of relying on virtual shopping do not outweigh the shortcomings. The greatest benefit of purchasing online is that it is a time and energy-saving habit. For example, customers have no need to stand in line and wait for their turn at some event's stand to buy a ticket as they can comfortably book it online at their home. Furthermore, doing grocery shopping online saves the effort to go out and carry heavy bags back to one's place: many people suffering from physical hindrances, including disabled ones or elders, would gain the independence of doing shopping on their own and receive the items directly at their place, which would otherwise be impossible. For these reasons, purchasing goods virtually has become a popular trend among the population. On the other hand, buying online routinely can be not practical in most cases and it might also lead to a severe saturation of the courier organization. When we need to buy items of clothing, for instance, the best way to pick up what is best for us is to try directly by ourselves. In my personal experience, in fact, whenever I use to buy clothes on a store's website I would choose the one that appears suitable according to my body measures, but every time the package arrives, I end up disappointed for picking the wrong size and having to send it back. Another remarkable disadvantage of shopping online, is that if every person wanted their goods to be delivered at their home, the delivery system would saturate as couriers would need to handle a massive amount of packages per day. On top of being stressful for post officers and hauliers, buying products from the internet is not environmental-friendly with a dramatic increase in air pollution and waste production. To conclude, more and more clients buy products on the Internet rather than visiting the physical shop by themselves. Although purchasing online seems to work in terms of saving time and effort, relying on online shopping alone proved to be not always the most effective way to purchase and it can also impact negatively the delivery work system that would need to tackle an extremely high demand of to-go products. Subsequently, I believe that the benefits of purchasing on online platforms do not exceed the drawbacks.