Today, the high sales of ppopular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The controversial issue concerning whether the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising or the real need of the society has attracted huge public attention and sparked a heated debate. Personally, I agree that the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and that is because in our day to day life we buy a lot of goods only based on the hype about that product and not because we need them. I will explain my reasons in this essay. One of the main causes of high sales of popular goods is because of the power of advertising and not the real need of the society. People around the world just buy products like shampoos, detergents, sooap soaps bars, beauty products eg, makeup, lipstick etc based on only the advertisements of the products and not because they are in actual need of them. The situation is made worse by advertising campaigns who create attractive advertisements that are targetted at people of all age groups, adult, children. The results of a recent study in US shows that around the globe the sales of products are reaching extremities only because of powerful advertisements. This is a huge problem as buying goods based solely on advertisements are beneficiary for the advertising companies but malign for the financial condition of people. Therefore, I have included the solution to this problem in this paragraph. One of the main ways to avoid being enticed by attractive advertisements is to make a monthly necessity list and buying products based on that. This is a great way of knowing what is indeed required at our homes and how much we are spending in a monthly basis on certain products. Therefore, based on the viewpoints mentioned above, I hold the firm perspective that high sales of goods is mainly because of the power of advertising. That's why, I also believe that people should adopt the solutions mentioned in this essay. As that would help them from getting robbed by advertisement companies.