The only reason people work hard is to earn more money. There are no other reasons to do it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Earning money is an indispensable part of leading a prosperous life. It is often believed that the driving force behind working diligently is to gain more financial prospects. I disagree with this statement to a great extent and in this essay, I will explain the reasons behind this with pertinent examples. To begin with, there is a number of professions which are chosen by people because they are passionate about it. People remain glued to their jobs even if they earn less. For instance, painters have gained popularity only in recent times and earlier individuals used to opt for these domains as they had job satisfaction and enthusiasm for their work. This is also applicable in the contemporary world. Hence, love for the profession is also a reason behind hard work. Moreover, many people continue to strive hard even if they are millionaires. They develop a daily regime over time. They continue to remain active in their fields to maintain the decorum of their life. For instance, Ratan Tata is a millionaire, even if he stops working, he will have enough to lead a prosperous life but he chooses to stay in his line of work as he has become habitual of it. However, there is no denying that money is significant to fulfil the basic necessities including food, clothes and shelter. If one wishes to have all the luxuries and high standards, he might have to put tremendous effort into working overtime to obtain more cash. To conclude, although possessing more financial prospects is necessary to lead a meaningful existence, yet it is not the main cause of working vigorously. Therefore, we cannot state it solely accountable for hard labour.