The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There is no doubt that the English language has become important due to the growth of the travel industry. Some people believe that it will make English the general language around the world and in this essay, we will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of it. The main advantage is, having everyone speak in a single dialect will help the tourism industry to grow rapidly, where people will tend to travel without the fear of knowing a foreign language. Moreover, they will be able to converse easily without the help of a translator. Due to the high number of tourists, the economy of a country will prosper, which will provide many job opportunities. In addition, mastering a single language will provide individuals more chances to be accepted to live, work, or study anywhere globally. For instance, a person would not need to sit for an English language exam to be able to study or migrate to countries such as Australia and Canada. Despite the advantages, the native language of a country needs to be preserved at all times. This is mainly because it carries a huge historical background showing the evolution of the nation. It will tend to destroy the cultural heritage by having the people change the way they speak. In addition, most of the important scriptures are written in the native dialect, and it will prove to be costly to convert it all. Furthermore, we will also lose important details if it is not being viewed properly. For instance, many Hindu scriptures which were written in Sanskrit has gone missing due to rehabilitation efforts. To summarize, if the English language becomes the prominent one in the world, it will help to spur the economy of a nation, but at the same time destroy the cultural aspects of society.