Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) is encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Although fossil fuels still remain the most important energy sources in many parts of the world, several countries are now already exploiting and using renewable resources like solar or wind power. From my personal perspective, I firmly believe that this development brings various benefits in the long term even though there could be some limitations at first. On the one hand, using renewable energy resources might bring several fundamental drawbacks. First and foremost, the change towards using alternative types of energy would probably put a heavy financial burden on the government as well as technological conglomerates. This is because they have to invest millions of dollars from the national budget in purchasing and developing cutting-edge technological devices, which are prohibitively expensive, for harnessing non-conventional sources of energy. Another noticeable disadvantage of this tendency is that the process of producing these green energy sources could be adversely affected by the harsh weather conditions. This could be exemplified through solar panels when they could be easily demolished by a hurricane due to being installed outdoors, which could cost a huge amount of money to rebuild. On the other hand, shifting towards using alternative energies is believed by some to be a worthwhile investment because of the significant benefits it brings. The first palpable advantage when it comes to renewable energies is that they reduce the burden on the environment. In fact, the combustion of non-renewable forms of energy like coal or petroleum is the main cause of massive amounts of emission that leads to various kinds of pollution. Therefore, replacing coal and petroleum with wind or solar power will improve the environment's quality, and in the long run, minimize the risk of residents globally affected by respiratory diseases like lung cancer that could result in premature death. Secondly, green sources of energy are eco-friendly and limitless. Recent research has shown that finite energies like fossil fuels will soon be depleted in the not-so-distant future, which could pose a potential threat to the whole world if there were no alternative sources of energy. This fact strongly emphasizes the need to develop renewable energy to gradually replace traditional sources when they run out. In a nutshell, despite the high initial cost of new equipment and facilities, the switch from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources is still essential for the long-term development of our planet.