Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, environmental issues such as global warming, ozone depletion, among others have been more and more serious and had an adverse effect on people’s lives. Although people have different views as to whether the state officials or ordinary citizens should be responsible for the environmental protection, I believe that protecting the environment should be done by both. On the one hand, the governments have an important role in protecting the planet. One of them is to introduce environmental protection laws. These laws help them control energy production and consumption which are two major reasons of environmental pollution. Furthermore, addressing major environmental problems such as global warming, prolonged droughts or extreme weather patterns requires modern technological devices and a great number of scientists and engineers. This means that a big budget is needed and the governments can afford to pay these costs. On the other hand, the contribution of ordinary citizens to environmental protection is also significant in many different ways. Firstly, people should take public transport or walk instead of private vehicles which release a great amount of carbon footprint. Another way in which individuals can help protect the environment is to support companies with sustainable business practices and boycott ones being reluctant to reduce waste. Finally, it is necessary for everyone to abide by government’s laws so that these problems would be solved in a comprehensive way. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I am convinced that both the governments and individuals must take responsibility for environmental conservation.