Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing video games. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Many schools require their students to wear a school uniform, but recently this policy has been criticised as being old-fashioned and even oppressive. In my opinion, uniforms are an essential component of school life and should be maintained for both practical and pedagogical reasons. The main reason for having a uniform policy is that every child can be treated equally. These days there is huge pressure, largely from social media, for young people to look good. Appearances matter to young people, and children may suffer from abuse and bullying if their clothes are perceived as ‘uncool’. Having to wear the same clothes ensures that even children from disadvantaged backgrounds look the same as everyone else. The fact that such clothes are generally inexpensive to buy helps in this regard. A second argument in favour of uniforms is that they give the child a sense of identity and make young people feel that they are part of a close school community within which they can help each other. This sense of belonging is increasingly important in a world where people are becoming more and more isolated by technology. Finally, there are practical reasons why the tradition of school uniforms should be maintained. Firstly, they are a cheap and convenient way of making sure children dress smartly, relieving them of the pressure of deciding what to wear on a daily basis, so that they can focus their attention on their studies. While some clothes would be incompatible with certain types of classwork, school outfits are designed for comfort and complement the kind of activities that school children are engaged in. To conclude, I believe that the benefits of school uniforms far outweigh the drawbacks. If children want to express their individual style and taste through the way they dress, they have plenty of opportunities to do this in their free time.