Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Over the centuries, working for someone else's business was the most common all over the World. However, the form of employment has been rapidly shifting from being an employee to being self-employed in recent years. In this essay, I am going to explore the reasons why a number of people are becoming in favour of working themselves over traditional working style and provide some drawbacks of this trend. There are some possible reasons for the shift of the working style. Advanced technology and the emergence of social media could have had key roles. For instance, everyone can upload youtube videos for free, thanks to the invention of smartphones, wherever the internet is connected. This makes it feasible for everyone to become a Youtuber, self-employed video creator. Furthermore, social media, such as Facebook and Instagram, makes it so much easier for all self-employers to advertise their products and services for the public for free, thereby getting rid of a worry about how they attract future customers. As a result, these developments lowered the barrier to start their own businesses. Nevertheless, there are also some negative aspects of self-employment. The main one would be unstable incomes. Salaries for people working by themselves utterly dependent on their abilities and therefore, they need to strive to be successful. I once worked as a mobile massage therapist and struggled to make ends meet since I did not have enough experience at that time. Also, having no one who helps self-employers develop their expertise, they might need to learn everything themselves. Like these examples, to become a self-employed worker, you might be required to overcome huge difficulties.