Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Throughout his history, human has invariably searched for more accurate, just and practical approaches to punishment. Some have viewed the concept as quite rigid, believing in fixed, unforgiving punishments for each type of crime, while some others believe in a more relative and understanding approach to punishment that takes into consideration the motivation and circumstances of the crime. Those maintaining that crimes ought to be responded to using fixed punishments are probably concerned about the function of punishment: to prevent crime. They may state that knowing that a crime will lead to a clear, uncompromising consequence, would-be offenders will do their utmost to avoid committing it. On a more epistemological level, they may be firm believers of free will, which means that, in their book, people choose to carry out their actions with choice and awareness, and therefore ill intent has to be reciprocated with the same level of maliciousness. There are others, however, who adopt a different approach, believing that it is not the crime per se that needs to be taken into account when determining punitive measures, but that it would be wiser to consider the circumstances of an individual offence or crime as well the motivation of the offender. This approach comes from a more humane mindset in which people are deemed as not machines and robots, but beings highly affected by external and internal factors. To them an act of stealing food conducted by an individual starving to death should be penalized differently than one done because of sheer greed. Another relative aspect in their viewpoint is that one’s motivation also plays a key role. A case in point would be a so-called murderer who happened to ‘get someone killed’ when they were playfully engaged in a friendly battle or wrestle. All in all, thoughts and mindsets how to penalize offenders are divided and have always been a moot point. While some adopt a ‘tunnel-versioned’ approach towards this long-debated issue, there are more balanced views that not only take into account the preventative function of punishment but also the circumstances of every individual crime and intents of the criminals.