Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out by some that training individuals to become useful members of society is the purpose of education, other people suggest that educational establishments ought to help people to fulfil their goals. Personally, I agree with the former idea as having ample useful members is beneficial to building a stable society. On the one hand, some people, including me, believe that filling with sufficient useful graduates has a positive impact on society. The reason is that when the local government has recognized its shortages, only if academic institutions follow the government’s outline to educate the much-needed professionals, a community can become a place that is stable. For instance, in China, a massive number of universities persuaded their students to enrol in architecture a few years ago as the number of habitations could not meet residents’ demands. As a result, countless graduates and workers invest themselves to construct residences, contributing to a stable society whose members feel satisfied and rewarded. On the other hand, some individuals argue that the function of schools and universities is helping pupils to attain their ambitions. This is because when students are able to follow their hearts to learn their favourite major, their passion will drive them to invest a considerable amount of time into their study, so they are far more likely to become successful people, which benefits their personal development. As an illustration, a huge proportion of famous artists state that they were extremely lucky to be able to put their name in the subject that they are passionate about when choosing their major. Although it is incredibly tough for them to think about fascinating ideas to create masterpieces, they always have a positive attitude towards their tasks, thus leading to their success. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about the aim of education, while I am of the opinion that education should help society to cultivate highly qualified professionals that it lacks, which contributes to creating a community with a harmonious atmosphere.