Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many manufacturers are ramping up their production of processed foods because the purchase of these items has increased owing to their long shelf life. Unfortunately, these products, although they meet the customer requirement, pose certain health risks to the consumer. On one hand, the advantages provided by these products are that they are products ready for the go. They can be transported anywhere and can be consumed at any time, owing to their long shelf life. In addition, the amount of time involved to prepare the meal is minimal, and it, therefore, is suitable for many IT professionals who tend to work long hours. Lastly, the variety of flavours each of their products come in helps to get the purchaser interested in the product. An example of this is Maggi noddles. This is a dish which takes around 5 minutes to prepare and its many flavours make it an attractive and cheap product. Alternately, the main drawback of these preserved foods is that the preservatives added are not healthy for people. However, the manufacturers, who are more interested in profit than understanding the composition of the ingredients, so add a lot of it to the product so that it will get more flavour. Furthermore, many manufacturers use chemical dyes to make their products more attractive to the buyer. In conclusion, the drawbacks of preserved foods outweigh the advantages. Although these products meet the consumer requirement in this fast-paced world, anything which causes lasting damage to ones' health should be avoided at all costs.