In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

Nowadays, the amount of vehicles has rapidly overgrown the pace of infrastructure constructions everywhere in the world. From observations, the discovery is a result of overpopulation as well as the ineffective means of public transportation. Despite that, there are potential solutions that can be done to minimise the impact of the issue, such as resolving the public transportation management and controlling density of population in certain areas. The essay will extensively discuss the aforementioned causes of the problem and propose actions to resolve it. Firstly, the traffic density continuously rises simply because of the discrepancy on the number of people in one area compared to the other. This means in some parts of a country, like the capital cities, the occupancy is higher while suburban areas have less residents. Hence, the increasing number of population in the urban areas reflect the density on roads. However, there are actions that the government can offer that will persuade people to shift to regional areas. For instance, the Australian government guaranteed foreigners with immediate Permanent Residency of 5 years who would reside in their regional areas such as the Northern Territory or Hamilton Islands. Secondly, it has been observed that the inefficient system of mass travel in metropolitan area has contributed to the traffic congestion. Furthermore, buses and trains usually have unreliable schedules and prone to overcrowding. As a result, most members of the community suffer consequences such as longer travel times and being late to work. Hence, many opt to own a car or a motorbike instead and cramming the highways and streets. Nevertheless, the government could have provided more frequent services of trains and buses to cater the escalating number of people. As an illustration, the implementation of TransJakarta in Jakarta have significantly reduces traffice in its business district by 40%. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the abundance of cars on the road has significantly trespass the stagnant treshold of the infrastructure itself. Due to overpopulation and poor mass transit systems, the issue has become significant. Nonetheless, approaches like diverting residencies from cities to suburbans and implementing efficient transportation services have been shown to give promising results.