Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. What extent do you agree?

Homeless people are prevalent in every major city across the world. However, many people believe the solution for ridding a city of homeless people is to give them money, whilst others feel that is not the way to go. I agree with the notion of throwing money at the situation as not being the way forward, and I will substantiate my reasoning through the course of this essay. First and foremost, we need to understand why is a person homeless. There could be a number of reasons. It could be because they suffer from either drug or alcohol addictions, or mental problems, maybe they are war veterans struggling to adapt to daily civilian life, or maybe they are just people who fell on hard times. Sections of society believe that if money is thrown at them then they will be able to afford housing and food for themselves. For example, as of now the homeless live aimlessly on the streets, but if given enough finance, they can be able to purchase food and obtain shelter, which will help their survival especially during the winter months. However, this only masks the problem rather than facing it. Unless we truly understand the problem, we cannot fix it. Giving money to a drug addict or an alcoholic will not help them to look for housing. Instead, they will use the money to purchase more drugs and alcohol. This is why, first and foremost the government must invest funds in organisations which can help the homeless, understand the problem and then, slowly over time fix the problem. In conclusion, we should remember “If you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime." It is this same philosophy that must be used in dealing with the homeless.