Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The future is within the hand of the children, so it becomes a necessity that the children learn how to behave in accordance to be a decent human being as members of society. Some believe that these value should be taught in home by each of their parents, while others put their faith fully in school. In my own perspective, while teachers have responsibility in teaching these norms in school, parents should also be held accountable for their children characters. On one hand, children spend roughly 6 to 7 hours of their time in school, which accounts for their productivity time, play time, as well as socializing time. Children meet their friends in school, so it became a solid reason as why teacher needs to teach manners to these kids. In addition to this, kids love learning by playing, so teacher can apply this method easily in teaching them some norms and values for their social and spiritual quotient. Furthermore, most of the times, students value and pay a huge amount of respect to their teacher, so it adds more opportunities in teaching them because most likely they will act accordingly to what the teacher says. On the other hand, the responsibility should not be put solely on the teacher ’s shoulder. Most of the children time is being spent in their home with their parents or family. This is where the learning process continue. This is where they can directly apply those values they got from their school. Parents can control how their kids are behaving in their home. They can also inject more values during dinner or during their leisure time. Moreover, kids are learning by example. Good real life examples which are shown to them by their parents at home will be easily absorbed by children, for instance table manner and effective communication between each member of the family. To conclude, although the schools need to teach children how to have a decent behavior, it also in the hand of the parents to continue the teaching process as well as controlling process at home.